Arahal – Church of San Roque
Church of San Roque (ex San Roque Convent)
This baroque church was built by the Franciscans and inaugurated on the 3rd of May 1624. The main altarpiece, also baroque in style, is attributed to Tomás Guiado el Viejo. In the central vaulted niche is an image of the Virgin of the Sorrows, from the end of the 17th century, by an unknown sculptor, but of exceptional beauty and expression. Inside the church there are several notable sculptures of saints, all also by unknown artists.
Inside what was the former monastery still stands the Domestic Chapel, where there appears an interesting allegorical painting of t he tree of life. It dates from 1723.
The church is also the canonic seat of the Hermandad del Santo Entierro (Brotherhood of the Holy Burial)
Belonging to the disappeared Franciscan convent, the church, made of brick and masonry, with a Latin cross plan with a single nave, is covered with a barrel vault with lunettes and a dome on pendentives in the transept. The choir, at the foot, is located on the mezzanine.
It has two covers, the main one, at the foot, is linteled and rests on pilasters with a split pediment and niche finish with the image of San Roque. That of the Epistle, formed by a molding from the 18th century.
Remains of the cloister are preserved from the original convent, formed by a nave with groin vaults and semicircular arches, the patios, several rooms, among which the Chapter House stands out, a unique baroque space in Arahal that is presided over by an imposing allegorical canvas. Read more…