Berrocal was granted the privilege of municipal, and the resulting emancipation, by King Philip IV on August 25, 1658. The city council had fought more than two centuries for the jurisdiction that was its right throughout the time of the ancient city of Tejada; Berrocal, was at that time, close to the deserted hamlet of Tejada de la Vieja. However, its complaints were lost in the depth of centuries without getting justice.
The exact origins of Berrocal are unknown, but it is believed that it arose from a passage where horses were cared for and because, close to the village, a Roman lane passed from Rio Tinto to the Guadalquivir.
During the time of Imperial Rome, the Rio Tinto mines were the subject of much activity and the minerals were transported by road to its mining board in the imperial capital. A large settlement the Romans called Loelia had already existed and it is this old Loelia area, crossed by Roman roads and fields abundant with dolmens, which shows the antiquity of human presence here. However, in the V century AD the Río Tinto mines were worked out and the inhabitants of the village became adapted to the life of herding, hunting, farming and harvesting honey from the abundant hives
By the year 1612 King Philip III began the construction of the parish church of San Juan Bautista, which was completed in 1646. About the year 1860 there was a readjustment in the municipalities of the region affecting Berrocal, its area being adjusted for the benefit of the towns -Villas de Paterna and Escacena del Campo.
In 1833 the modern province of Huelva was created in the judicial area of Berrocal Valverde del Camino, not Aracena as it had been until then. Until the year 1875, when the Rio Tinto railway came, the area was almost stuck in the middle ages. However, since the ’70s the town has undergone a great sociological change, making it a prosperous and peaceful place; a residential place where the workers from Seville and Huelva still have their second home in the village.
Natural beauty is one of the highlights of this unique area of the coalfield. Berrocal’s physiognomy is perfectly integrated in a natural environment of both simple and intoxicating beauty. There are three elements of landscape tradition: the Tinto River, the forest and game reserve. Within the margins of the Tinto and its gradual process of ageing are the most attractive and beautiful places around Berrocal. The river itself with its reddish water is testament to the iron in the area. One of the most accessible places where you can contemplate this phenomenon is the area known as El Molino Viejo, which still shows traces of mining activity. However it is more difficult to detect wild boars, badgers, mongooses, foxes, genets, wild cats, voles, and shrews, which together with other species, go about their business at night. It has even been known to detect the presence of otters.
Iglesia de San Juan Bautista, sixteenth century.
Ermitas de la Cruz de Arriba y de Abajo.
The lamb stews, casseroles and salads with gazpacho and garden products, delicious desserts such as cakes, butter, candied pine nuts or alfajores.
Goat stews or sweet oil and meal are traditional during the Fiestas.
Exit Huelva. Take the A-472. Crossing of San Juan del Puerto-Niebla crossing – Villarasa crossing- Crossing of La Palma del Condado. Left towards Girar HV-5131.. Turn right: H-9026. Enter Berrocal.
Huelva 78 km
Zalamea la Real 21 km
Cortegana 66 km
Aracena 60 km
Sevilla 81 km
El Castillo de las Guardas 32 km Nerva 18 km
Valverde del Camino 31 km