Andalucia Rustica

Search More

Jerez de la Frontera, monuments, palaces, churches, cathedral and convents

Jerez de la Frontera – San Lucas Church

Jerez de la Frontera, monuments, palaces, churches, cathedral and convents

San Lucas Church – Jerez de la Frontera

The San Lucas Church is located at the San Lucas Square, in the Andalusian town of Jerez de la Frontera, province of Cadiz.

Inserted in the urban fabric of the Historic Complex of Jerez, and forming part of the wide conglomerate of Jerez churches, the temple of San Lucas should be highlighted. This Gothic-Mudejar style temple is one of the six parishes built within the walls, on old mosques, during the first years of the Christian conquest (around 1264), as it appears in the Distribution Book of Alfonso X of the year 1266.

Artistically and stylistically, the church of San Lucas in Jerez de la Frontera presents a Mudejar structure of Sevillian tradition that reconciles with constructive elements typical of Cordovan Gothic, and which is completed internally, around the 18th century, with a rich and important decorative program of baroque style linked to the figure of the holy evangelist. In this building we can see how very different styles overlap and combine in an enriching way, both artistically and historically, making it a unique example of Cadiz and Andalusian religious architecture.

Currently, the church plays an important role in the religious life of the people of Jerez, since it houses the venerated image of Jesus of the Three Falls, the work of Ramón Chaveli.

The undeniable presence of artistic, historical, architectural and ethnological values ​​in the church of San Lucas, in Jerez de la Frontera, justify its recognition as part of the Andalusian Historical Heritage.

San Lucas Church - Jerez de la Frontera

Jerez Town Hall

0 comentarios

Leave A Comment