Ronda – Santa Secilia Parish Church
Parish Church of Santa Cecilia – Ronda
Now the parish church of Santa Cecilia, it belonged formerly to the Trinitarios Descalzos (the Barefoot Trinitarians) and was constructed next to the convent in 1663 on top of an ancient hermitage know as the Cristo de las Penas or Peñas. The monks had their residence there until 1836.
The church was restored some years ago. It has the form of a Christian cross within a rectangle with three naves, of which the central one is the largest. The transept is covered by a cupola decorated with painted scenes of various Trinitarian saints.
The main façade is made of sandstone with two Tuscan-style groups of stone columns and figures, and the Order´s shield embedded in the same façade. It has an atrium above streetlevel, surrounded by a thick iron gate which enhances the picturesque nature of the frontispiece.